NESEA's Board of Directors

Caitriona Cooke, Chair

Energy Conservation
Conservation Services Group Inc. (CSG)
Board Term: 2012 to 2017

Caitriona Cooke, Director of Retrofit & New Construction Consulting Services at CSG, oversees regional consulting operations and supervises a staff of fifteen. Cooke served on the team providing DOER-sponsored Smart Building trainings for building officials in Massachusetts. Previously, she was employed at Pinck and Company representing owners during all phases of design and construction. Cooke is the current chair of the NESEA board.

Paul Eldrenkamp, Secretary

Board Term: 2013 to 2016

After a wide range of carpentry jobs and a bachelor's degree in History and Literature of Medieval Europe, Paul Eldrenkamp founded Byggmeister (Scandinavian for "master builder") in 1983. "I've always put a high priority on two things: fostering easy, friendly relations with our clients and building a team of people who are as interesting and diverse as they are talented and dedicated." Paul is a widely-recognized expert in high-performance homes and frequently speaks to industry groups and the public about energy efficient construction. He is also a founding partner of The DEAP Energy Group, a consulting partnership focusing on Passive House, zero-net energy, other high-efficiency building standards.

Andrew Padian, Vice Chair

PadianNYC Consulting
Board Term: 2012 to 2015

F.L. Andrew Padian is a private Building Science Consultant with 35 years of experience in the unique building science of multifamily buildings. He has performed detailed energy analysis on thousands of buildings across the country. Mr. Padian is a frequent contributor to energy and sustainable publications, and has spoken at numerous conferences across the country. Previously, he was Vice President for Energy Initiatives for The Community Preservation Corporation (CPC), where he worked in the implementation of the Green Financing Initiative (GFI) and NYC’s Sandy Recovery Program (Build it Back). Prior to CPC, Andy started the Multifamily Buildings Division and re-opened the NYC Office for Steven Winter Associates (SWA). He was also Director of Engineering and Training for the Association for Energy Affordability (AEA), and toiled in the NYC Mayor’s Energy Office and the NYC Department of Housing Preservation and Development. He lives in NYC, and is involved in many sustainable causes there, including GreenHomeNYC (Board Member), the Northeast Sustainable Energy Association (Vice Board Chair) and the Clinton Community Garden (Chairperson).

Tina Halfpenny, Treasurer

Director of Energy Efficiency
Board Term: 2011 to 2017

Tina is an accomplished energy professional with national visibility and deep experience in efficiency and renewable implementation, regulation and policy.

As Director of the Energy Efficiency Division for the MA Department of Energy Resources, and Chair of the MA Energy Efficiency Advisory Council, Tina drives success through strategic planning, collaboration, and continuous improvement.

Richard Renner

Richard Renner Architects
Board Term: 2013 to 2016

Richard has been the Principal at Richard Renner Architects since 2003. Current and recent projects include the ongoing renovations for Maine College of Art, a new base camp facility for the Maine Appalachian Trail Club, a new headquarters for the Buzzards Bay Coalition in New Bedford, MA, a five unit co-housing community, and several private residences.

Rob Meyers

Energy Services Manager
South Mountain Co.
Board Term: 2014 to 2017

After 13 years of desperately trying to be a carpenter, Rob's peers at South Mountain company finally got him out of their hair when he shifted from the field to the office in an energy services & product sales role five years ago. As it turns out, swinging a spread-sheet is a better fit for him (and his peers) than swinging a hammer. Rob has no formal building science education, but relies on an inquisitiveness that is rivaled by only the most tenacious three-year old ('Why? Why? Why?') and the good fortune of being able to pester both John Abrams & Marc Rosenbaum on a daily basis: how could he not learn something?

Michael Bruss

Bruss Construction, Inc.
Board Term: 2013 to 2016

Martine Dion

Director of Sustainable Design
Board Term: 2013 to 2016

John Skipper

ConEdison Energy Efficiency Programs
Board Term: 2014 to 2017

Phil Kaplan

Principal, Maine
Kaplan Thompson Architects
Board Term: 2012 to 2015

Founded in 2004, Phil Kaplan and his firm, Kaplan Thompson Architects, have emerged rapidly. His firm's motto, 'Beautiful Sustainable Attainable', reinforces their commitment to creating vibrant, healthy and durable buildings for all.