Meet the Content Committee

The content of BuildingEnergy Boston is curated by a volunteer committee of NESEA members, who collectively put in hundreds of hours throughout the year to ensure that sessions are data-driven, diverse and genuinely useful to attendees. To be a part of this year's planning committee, contact Miriam Aylward, Program Director.

2019 Conference Co-Chairs

Michelle Apigian AIA, AICP, LEED AP, Associate is an architect, planner and urban designer who has worked on a broad array of project types and scales, from large, multi-phase master plans and design and construction of new multifamily developments to strategic infill, adaptive reuse and modernization projects. Her work includes the first Passive House certified multifamily project in MA as well as numerous LEED certified projects. She combines optimism and pragmatism to design sustainable environments that strengthen communities and celebrate the uniqueness of place.

James Petersen began his career in this industry in 1986 and founded Petersen Engineering, Inc. in 1992. His expertise has expanded over the years from HVAC engineering and plumbing design to encompass building science, enclosure design, and integrated design. James is passionate not just about his work, but also about the people who perform the work. Using a collaborative, collegial approach, he and his project teams consistently leverage the unique strengths of all participants to create well-designed, occupant-friendly, high-performance buildings.

James is a licensed Professional Engineer in New Hampshire (#8139), Massachusetts (#36560), New York (#089372) and Maine (#7231), as well as a LEED® Accredited Professional. He received a Bachelor of Science in Mechanical Engineering and a Bachelor of Arts in Philosophy from the University of New Hampshire.

2019 Conference Vice Co-Chairs

Sonia Barrantes, P.E. is a former Naval Flight Officer who spent more than a decade flying in carrier-based combat aircraft all over the country and the world. She recently returned home to Maine where she has opened her own mechanical engineering firm, Ripcord Engineering, specializing in high-efficiency integrated design of mechanical and plumbing systems for commercial and multi-family residential buildings. Sonia is a graduate of the United States Naval Academy and the University of Maryland College Park with an undergraduate degree in Aerospace Engineering and a graduate degree in Mechanical Engineering. Ripcord Engineering is passionate about securing our national fuel supply through design of elegant and efficient buildings.

Cammy Peterson is the Director of Clean Energy at the Metropolitan Area Planning Council, the regional planning agency for Metro Boston. She oversees all of MAPC’s clean energy work, including local climate and energy planning, regional energy procurements, and local and state climate and energy policy. Ms. Peterson further strives to integrate clean energy practices into all aspects of MAPC’s planning work. Under her leadership, the Clean Energy Department launched a new Net Zero Planning initiative and associated series, Zero to 101, Bringing Net Zero to 101 Cities and Towns, in the fall of 2017.

Prior to joining MAPC, Ms. Peterson managed the energy, environmental, and transportation policy and legislative portfolios for New York State Assemblymember Brian Kavanagh. Ms. Peterson is a Board Member of the Massachusetts Climate Action Network (MCAN). She earned a Masters degree in Urban and Environmental Policy and Planning from Tufts University, where she focused on clean energy and climate policy and planning. She holds a Bachelor of Arts degree, cum laude, from Harvard University.

2019 Content Committee

Arlen Li, Wilson HGA
Behnam Tirandazi, ENGIE North America
Beverly Craig, Massachusetts Clean Energy Center (MassCEC)
Cammy Peterson, Metropolitan Area Planning Council
Christina McPike, WinnCompanies
Christopher Nielson, Bruner/Cott & Associates, Inc.
Danny Veerkamp, Warren Construction Group, Inc.
David Ward, Energy Engineering and Design, Inc.
Ellen Watts, Architerra
Fred Davis, Fred Davis Corporation
Geoff Gunn, Arup
Heather Thompson, Thompson Johnson Woodworks
James Petersen, Petersen Engineering, Inc.
Jennifer Hatch, ReVision Energy
John Livermore, Center for Sustainable Energy
Kurt Roth, Fraunhofer Center for Sustainable Energy Systems
Lauren Baumann, New Ecology, Inc.
Marc Sternick, Dietz & Company Architects, Inc.
Marcell Graeff, Wilson HGA
Mark Schow, Jacobs Engineering
Megan Nedzinski, Vermont Integrated Architecture
Michael Brod, New Ecology, Inc.
Michael Browne, Advanced Building Analysis, LLC
Michelle Apigian, ICON Architecture, Inc.
Sara Draper, Hampshire College
Satpal Kaur, Curtis + Ginsberg Architects LLP
Shawn Gallagher, Action for Boston Community Development, Inc.
Sisia Daglian, City of Cambridge
Sonia Barrantes, Ripcord Engineering
Ted Hetzel, Petersen Engineering, Inc.